ÐÓÑÑÊÈÉ    |    ENGLISH

2012 ¹ 6

2012 ¹ 6

The present issue consists of articles that were submitted by the members of the department of contemporary problems of musical art of the State Institute for Art Studies for the collection ‘Musical-Theoretical Systems of the 20th centuries’ (edited by M. G. Aranovsky). The collection was published in 2011 after Professor Aranovsky’s death, in a very small number of copies with editorial and printing flaws. Since the articles can be of interest for a wide circle of readers, the editorial board decided to re-publish them.

ARTICLES

S. I. Taneyev’s Writings on the Theory of Counterpoint

The article contains a survey of the writings by Sergey Taneyev, an eminent Russian composer and music theorist, dealing with the theory of counterpoint. Taneyev’s theoretical views are analyzed on the material of his books Convertible Counterpoint in the Strict Style (first published in 1909) and The Study of Canon (unfinished, published posthumously in 1929). The development of Taneyev’s theory in the works of Russian specialists in polyphony is traced.

The Theoretical Conception of B. L. Yavorsky

During his lifetime, Boleslav Leopol’dovich Yavorsky (1877–1942) enjoyed high reputation as musicologist, thinker, and teacher. A considerable part of his legacy, however, has remained unpublished. In this article, an attempt has been made to summarize Yavorsky’s theoretical views, reflected in his unfinished outline of an integrated and consistent theory of musical language.

The Conception of B. V. Asafiev

Boris Vladimirovich Asafiev (1884–1949) is universally known as the founder of the theory of intonation. Some of the latter’s aspects, however, are not sufficiently elucidated in Asafiev’s writings, giving rise to ambiguous interpretations. The article provides a general image of Asafiev’s theoretical ideas and brings forward a comprehensive interpretation of his theory of intonation.

Heinrich Schenker and His Analytical Theory

The article describes and comments upon Heinrich Schenker’s theory of tonal music, largely known as one of the most influential theoretical doctrines of the 20th century.

On the traces of Schenker: Reductionism

The rise of popularity of Heinrich Schenker’s theoretical doctrine in the 2nd half of the 20th century was largely conditioned by its ideological closeness to the generative syntax by Noam Chomsky. The article discusses the trends in musicology continuing these two doctrines; a special attention is paid to the treatise by F. Lerdahl and R. Jackendoff A Generative Theory of Tonal Music (1983).

The Development of Functional Theory in the 20th Century Russian Musicology

The author surveys the achievements of Russian musicology based on the functional approach to the study of harmony, monodic scales, musical form and melodic syntax, as well as of the music as an integrated phenomenon ruled by the laws of psychological perception.

Set Theory in the USA: Milton Babbitt and Allen Forte

The so-called set theory is a well-known contemporary methodology used mainly in the analysis of new music, especially free atonal and twelve-tone. The article presents the fundamentals of the theory, discusses its merits and limitations.

РУССКИЙ    |    ENGLISH

2012 № 6

2012 № 6

Содержание настоящего выпуска журнала «Искусство музыки: теория и история» составляют статьи, написанные сотрудниками Отдела современных проблем музыкального искусства Государственного института искусствознания для сборника «Музыкально-теоретические системы XX века» (редактор-составитель М. Г. Арановский). Сборник вышел уже после смерти Марка Генриховича, в 2011 году, ничтожным тиражом, с издательским и типографским браком. Поскольку статьи могут представлять интерес для достаточно широкого круга читателей, редакция журнала сочла целесообразной их повторную публикацию.

СТАТЬИ

Труды С.И. Танеева по теории контрапункта

В статье дается обзор трудов выдающегося русского композитора и теоретика С. И. Танеева по теории контрапункта. Теоретические взгляды Танеева анализируются на материале его книг «Подвижной контрапункт строгого письма» (1909) и «Учение о каноне» (не окончена, опубликована посмертно, 1929). Прослеживается развитие теории Танеева в трудах отечественных специалистов по теории полифонии.

Теоретическая концепция Б. Л. Яворского

Болеслав Леопольдович Яворский (1877–1942) при жизни пользовался значительным влиянием как музыковед-мыслитель и педагог, однако значительная часть его наследия осталась неопубликованной. В статье сделана попытка обобщить музыкально-теоретические воззрения Яворского, запечатленные в его неоконченном опыте по созданию единой и непротиворечивой теории музыкального языка.

Концепция Б.В. Асафьева

Борис Владимирович Асафьев (1884–1949) широко известен как создатель теории интонации, однако многие ее аспекты в трудах Асафьева остались непроясненными и допускают неоднозначные толкования. В статье дается общая картина музыкально-теоретических взглядов Асафьева и выдвигается всесторонняя интерпретация его теории интонации.

Генрих Шенкер и его аналитическая теория

В статье сжато излагается и комментируется одна из влиятельнейших музыкально-теоретических доктрин XX века – теория тональной музыки Генриха Шенкера (1868–1935).

По следам Шенкера: редукционизм

Взлет популярности музыкально-теоретической доктрины Г. Шенкера во 2-й половине XX века был в значительной степени обусловлен ее идейной близостью к генеративному синтаксису Н. Хомского. В статье рассматриваются тенденции музыкальной науки, продолжающие линию этих двух доктрин; особое внимание уделено труду Ф. Лердаля и Р. Джэкендоффа «Генеративная теория тональной музыки» (1983).

Развитие функциональной теории в отечественной музыкальной науке ХХ века

Статья представляет собой обзор достижений отечественной музыкальной науки, основанных на функциональном подходе к исследованию гармонии, монодических ладов, музыкального формообразования и мелодического синтаксиса, а также музыки как единого феномена, управляемых законами психологического восприятия.

Сет-теория В США: Милтон Бэббитт и Аллен Форт

Так называемая сет-теория («теория рядов») – известная современная методология, применяемая преимущественно в анализе новой музыки, прежде всего свободно-атональной и додекафонной. В статье изложены основы теории, продемонстрированы ее достоинства и ограничения.