ÐÓÑÑÊÈÉ    |    ENGLISH

2013 ¹ 7

2013 ¹ 7

The seventh issue of the journal contains texts (articles and reviews) dedicated mainly to the Russian music of the 19th and 20th centuries, as well as an essay on an unjustly neglected Catalonian–British composer of the 20th century. As usual in our journal, some articles contain sounding illustrations.

The journal is published with the consent of the Scientific Council of the State Institute for Art Studies

ARTICLES

Bortnyanasky, Tchaikovsky & Jurgenson

Dmitriy Bortnyansky and Peter Tchaikovsky belonged to different generations; hence, their artistic ideals and stylistic systems differed considerably. The names of these two composers, however, are inseparably linked in the ‘Complete Sacred Musical Works by Bortnyansky, edited by Tchaikovsky’, published by Peter Jurgenson’s house. In this article, Tchaikovsky’s editorial work is analyzed from the perspectives of source criticism and chronology, in terms of organization, structure, and style.

“…I’m not a priest, I’m a trade-union member…” (the Dramsoyuz Affair)

The article deals with archival documents related to the creation, activities, and liquidation of the Choral Section of Dramsoyuz (“Drama Union”, a copyright agency) in the 1920s. The section in question was quite numerous, its members included church music composers. The materials of Dramsoyuz are important for the history of Orthodox Church singing during the Soviet period, since they shed some light on the posterior development of church choral repertoire. Besides, these materials have a more universal value: they reveal the contradictions of the 1920s in a peculiarly pointed, paradoxical, sometimes absurd manner.

On the Creative History of the Labyrinths by Nikolay Sidelnikov: The Master’s Orbit

The author tries to detect the multiple influences of biographical context on the content and structure of Nikolay Sidelnikov’s novel-symphony Labyrinths.

Roberto Gerhard (1896–1970)

This is the first Russian biography of the Spanish (Catalan), later British composer, Schoenberg’s pupil Roberto Gerhard (1896–1970). The article is a part of the author’s large research project dedicated to marginal figures of the 20th century music. Like the earlier biographical essays of the same cycle published in this journal’s previous issues (‘Giacinto Scelsi’, No. 1–2, 2011; ‘Jean Barraqué’, No. 3, 2013), the text is supplied with numerous music examples and sound illustrations.

M. I. Glinka’s Journey to the Caucasus: Something New about his Fellow Travellers and his Contacts at Spa Resorts

The article is based on two commentaries prepared by the author for the fourth book of ‘Glinka’s Journeys’ dealing with Glinka’s Caucasian trip of 1823. The observations presented here may enlarge, refine, or even change our views on Glinka’s milieu and the character of his social contacts. The discovery of previously unk¬nown facts enrich our knowledge about the cultural context of Glinka’s youth. His acquaintances made during his stay at the Caucasian spa resorts are all but unexplored by his biographers. And yet they played a peculiar role in the young composer’s formation as individual and, probably, also as artist. The author’s principal task is to revive these figures for a contemporary reader; for this purpose, the method of culturological commentary is used.

REVIEWS

E. M. Levashev, N. I. Teterina. Historicism in Musorgsky’s Artistic Thinking

A review of one of the fundamental recent books on the history of Russian music and one of the most important studies of Musorgsky’s oeuvre.

A. S. Lyapunova In Memoriam; T. A. Zaytseva. M. A. Balakirev’s Creative Lessons. Pianism, Conducting, Teaching; A. A. Alekseev-Boretsky. Nikolay Ivanovich Zaremba

A review of three recent St Petersburg publications centred around the lives and fortunes of outstanding Russian musicians of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

PRESENTATIONS

Completion of the ‘History of Russian Music in 10 Volumes’

The members of the editorial board of the collective monograph ‘A History of Russian Music in 10 Volumes’ relate the story of this publication, written during more than three decades by the members of the State Institute of Arts Studies (formerly All-Union Research Institute of Arts Studies) and completed in 2012.

РУССКИЙ    |    ENGLISH

2013 № 7

2013 № 7

В седьмом выпуске журнала представлены работы (статьи и рецензии), посвященные главным образом русской музыке XIX—XX веков, а также очерк о незаслуженно малоизвестном каталонском и британском композиторе XX века. Как обычно в нашем журнале, некоторые статьи снабжены звучащими иллюстрациями.

Журнал печатается по решению Ученого совета Государственного института искусствознания.

СТАТЬИ

Бортнянский, Чайковский & Юргенсон

Д.С. Бортнянский и П.И. Чайковский были людьми разных поколений, и в силу этого их художественные идеалы и стилистические системы существенно различались. Однако имена двух композиторов неразрывно слились в «Полном собрании духовно-музыкальных сочинений Бортнянского в редакции Чайковского», выпущенном издательством П.И. Юргенсона. Редакторская работа Чайковского анализируется в предлагаемой работе в источниковедческом и хронологическом ракурсах, организационном, структурном и стилистическом аспектах.

«…Я не служитель религиозного культа, а член профсоюза…» (дело Драмсоюза)

В статье рассматриваются архивные дела, относящиеся к созданию, деятельности и ликвидации Хоровой секции Драмсоюза (агентства по защите авторских прав) в 1920-х годах. Эта секция включала в себя авторов церковно-музыкальных композиций и была весьма многочисленной. Материалы Драмсоюза важны для истории православного церковного пения в советский период: они нередко могут служить объяснением путей формирования клиросного репертуара в последующие десятилетия. Кроме того эти материалы имеют высокую общеисторическую ценность, в заостренной, парадоксальной, иной раз анекдотической форме раскрывая противоречия двадцатых годов.

К истории создания «Лабиринтов» Николая Сидельникова: орбита мастера

В статье сделана попытка проследить пути влияния биографического контекста создания романа-симфонии «Лабиринты» Н. Н. Сидельникова на содержание и структуру этого сочинения.

Роберто Герхард (1896–1970)

Первый на русском языке очерк жизни и творчества испанского (каталонского), а затем британского композитора, ученика Шёнберга Роберто Герхарда (1896–1970). Статья представляет собой часть исследовательского проекта «Маргиналы музыки XX века». Как и предыдущие очерки этого цикла, опубликованные в журнале «Искусство музыки. Теория и история» («Джачинто Шельси», № 1–2, 2011; «Жан Барраке», № 3, 2013), текст снабжен многочисленными нотными примерами и звуковыми иллюстрациями.

Путешествие М.И. Глинки на Кавказ: новое о попутчиках и о встречах на водах

Статья основана на материале двух комментариев, подготовленных автором для четвертой книги «Странствий Глинки», посвященной путешествию на Кавказ в 1823 г. Предлагаемые читателю наблюдения призваны расширить, уточнить или даже изменить наши представления об окружении и о характере общения Глинки.. Это связано с обнаружением доселе вовсе не известных фактов, с обновлением представлений о культурно-историческом контексте раннего этапа биографии М.И. Глинки. Его знакомства, состоявшиеся во время пребывания на Кавказских минеральных водах, практически не исследованы в биографической литературе – достаточно назвать имена Н.И. Петровского-Муравского, В.Ф. Тимковского или А.С. Меншикова. А ведь они, безусловно, сыграли неординарную роль в человеческом и, вероятно, в творческом становлении юного композитора. Оживить эти фигуры для нашего современника – главная задача, которую решал автор; для этого вновь, как и в ряде предыдущих работ, применен метод культурологического комментария.

РЕЦЕНЗИИ

Е.М. Левашев, Н.И. Тетерина. Историзм художественного мышления М.П. Мусоргского

Рецензия посвящена одной из капитальных работ последнего времени по истории русской музыки и одному из наиболее значительных исследований творчества М.П. Мусоргского.

Памяти А.С. Ляпуновой; Т.А. Зайцева Творческие уроки М. А. Балакирева. Пианизм, дирижирование, педагогика; А.А. Алексеев-Борецкий Николай Иванович Заремба

Рецензия посвящена трем петербургским изданиям последнего времени, в центре которых – судьбы выдающихся деятелей истории русской музыки второй половины XIX – начала ХХ веков.

ПРЕЗЕНТАЦИИ

Завершение «Истории русской музыки в десяти томах»

Члены редакционной коллегии коллективной монографии «История русской музыки в десяти томах» рассказывают о судьбе этого издания, создававшегося на протяжении более чем трех десятков лет коллективом Государственного института искусствознания (ранее ВНИИИ) и завершенного в 2012 году.