ÐÓÑÑÊÈÉ    |    ENGLISH

2016 ¹ 15

2016 ¹ 15

The texts included in the present issue of the journal ‘Art of Music. Theory and History’ cover a number of different subject areas. The article of Sergey Tïshko (Kiev) deals with some special aspects of the methodology of music studies. Svetlana Lashchenko’s essay reconstructs an episode from the professional biography of A.M. Gedeonov, an outstanding Russian opera and theatre manager of the 19th century. The Israeli scholar Yuliya Kreynina (Julia Kreynin) discusses the reception of Mahler’s legacy in the Jewish State. In Yuliya Oparina’s article, the theme of the musicality of poetry is developed on the example of several settings of a short poem by A. Blok. Karine Dzhagatspanian (Jaghatspanian) from Armenia characterizes a new work by Krzysztof Penderecki (composed 2015). Marina Rakhmanova introduces a number of previously unpublished letters of N. Rimsky-Korsakov’s librettist Vladimir Belsky to the members of the composer’s family. Finally, Antonina Lebedeva-Emelina reviews recent doctoral dissertations on the European music of baroque and classicism defended at the Moscow Conservatoire.

ARTICLES

Commenting Upon the Musicians’ Texts: a ‘Slow Reading’ or Reading with Stops?

In this article, the author once again proposes an argumentation for his approach to the practice of commenting upon verban and musical texts. The ways for contemporary modifications of the well-known method of ‘slow reading’ and for its transformation into the method of ‘reading with stops’ are characterized. The viability of the author’s concept of commentary is proved on the materials related to different spheres of musicology and musical-cultural studies (facts from the biographies of Glinka and Pushkin, Rakhmaninov’s treatment of ancient sacred tune in his Vespers, a key moment in the creative biography of the pianist Horowitz, etc.); it is shown, in particular, that the author’s concept allows to find new meanings in the musicians’ texts.

The Director of the Imperial Theatres A. M. Gedeonov: the Moscow Sources of his Career as St Petersburg Theatre Manager (Contunuation) An Unknown ‘Horn’ Project And Its Fate

The article deals with the previously unknown episode from the history of Russian horn music and the role played in it by A. M. Gedeonov. The European itinerary of the Russian horn orchestra’s 1830s tour is reconstructed for the first time; the information about the terms of the musicians’ contracts is provided. The importance of A. M. Gedeonov, I. N. Utermark and P. M. Kozlov as the tour’s initiators and organizers is shown. The performers’ concert artivities, the programmes of their concerts, as well as the attitude of the European audiences to Russian musicians and the Russian art of horn playing are analyzed.

On the Reception of Mahler in Israel: his Return Home?

The article traces the evolution of the reception of Mahler’s music in Mandatory Palestine and Israel, from the initial attitude, generally rather restrained, conditioned, in particular, by ideological and religious contradictions within the Israeli society, through the tendency to conceive Mahler’s art as a peculiar symbol of the reborn State of Israel. A special attention is devoted to the works of contemporary Israeli literature whose subject matter is related to Mahler’s music.

Aleksandr Blok’s Free Verse and Problems of its Musical Interpretation

The article is devoted to the issue of poetic melodiousness, in particular, to the analysis of melodic meaning of A. Blok’s free verse. It is assumed that being formally closer to prose, Blok’s free verse is essentially a poem and, moreover, it is poetry to the full extent. The peculiarities of the ‘musicalization’ of free verse’s poetic intonation are shown on the examples of three composers’ settings of the poem ‘It’s night. The town is still…’ (by A. Raskatov, A. Buzovkin, G. Banshchikov).

Krzysztof Penderecki’s Offering

The article is dedicated to Penderecki’s Psalm 3 for choir a cappella – a piece composed in 2015 specially for the centenary of the Armenian Genocide in Ottoman Empire.

REVIEWS

Qualifying Musicology

The article deals with dissertations in musicology defended at Roman Nasonov’s class at the Moscow Conservatoire. All the three works under review explore European music of Baroque and Classicism: Antonenko E. Baldassare Galuppi’s Church Music: Issues of Study and Performance (2013); Zhdanov V. Sacred Concerto in the Oeuvre of North German Composers of the Second Half of the 17th Century (2015); Nogovitsïna K. Secular Vocal-Instrumental Concerto in the Oeuvre of Biagio Marini and His Northern Italian Contemporaries (2016). All the three dissertations contain musical transcripts; all can be easily characterized as excellent pieces of scholarship.

PUBLICATIONS

V. I. Belsky’s Letters To Andrey Nikolaevich And Mikhail Nikolaevich Rimsky-Korsakov

Publication of letters by the librettist of Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov’s late operas, Vladimir Belsky, who after the revolution of 1917 emigrated to Yugoslavia, to the composer’s sons who lived in Leningrad (1933–45), supplemented by documents related to Belsky’s life and work.

РУССКИЙ    |    ENGLISH

2016 № 15

2016 № 15

Последний в уходящем 2016 году номер журнала ИМТИ охватывает следующий круг тем: проблематика методологии музыкознания представлена статьей киевского исследователя С.В. Тышко; эпизод биографии крупнейшего российского музыкально-театрального деятеля XIX века А.М. Гедеонова восстановлен в очерке С.К. Лащенко; вопросы рецепции малеровского наследия в еврейской национальной культуре ХХ века рассмотрены израильским музыковедом Ю.В. Крениной; тему музыкальности поэзии на примере композиторских интерпретаций стихотворений А. Блока поднимает Ю.М. Опарина; краткую информацию о новом (2015 года) сочинении Кшиштофа Пендерецкого дает автор из Армении К.А. Джагацпанян; обширная публикация ранее не обнародованной переписки либреттиста В.И. Бельского с семейством его соавтора Н.А. Римского-Корсакова и материалов к ней предложена М.П. Рахмановой; завершает номер статья А.В. Лебедевой-Емелиной о нескольких кандидатских диссертациях последнего времени, защищенных в Московской консерватории, которые посвящены европейской музыке барокко и классицизма.

СТАТЬИ

Из опыта комментария к текстам музыкантов: «медленное чтение» или чтение с остановками?

В статье в очередной раз аргументируется разрабатываемый автором подход к комментарию вербальных и музыкальных текстов. Характеризуются пути современной модификации известного метода «медленного чтения» и его превращение в метод «чтения с остановками». На материале нескольких комментариев, относящихся к самым различным сферам музыкознания и музыкальной культурологии (факты биографий М.И. Глинки и А.С. Пушкина, отношение к обиходному напеву в одном из песнопений «Всенощного бдения» С.В. Рахманинова, переломный момент в творческой биографии пианиста В.С. Горовица и проч.), продемонстрирована жизнеспособность предложенной автором концепции комментария и, в частности, возможность с ее помощью по-новому интерпретировать тексты музыкантов.

Директор императорских театров А.М. Гедеонов: московские истоки Санкт- Петербургской театрально- административной карьеры (продолжение) Неизвестный «роговой проект» и его судьба

Рассматривается неизвестный ранее эпизод истории русской роговой музыки и роль в нем А.М. Гедеонова. Впервые восстанавливается маршрут европейских гастролей русского рогового оркестра в 1830-е годы и контрактные условия, принятые на себя музыкантами. Устанавливается значение А.М. Гедеонова, И.Н. Утермарка и П.М. Козлова как инициаторов и организаторов поездки. Анализируются особенности концертной деятельности исполнителей, программа их выступлений, а также отношение европейской публики к русским музыкантам и русскому роговому искусству.

О восприятии Малера в Израиле: возвращение домой?

В статье прослеживается эволюция восприятия музыки Малера в подмандатной Палестине и Израиле: от сравнительно сдержанного отношения, обусловленного, в частности, идейными и религиозными разногласиями внутри израильского общества, до трактовки искусства Малера как своего рода символа возрожденного Израиля. Особое внимание уделено произведениям современной израильской литературы, содержание которых так или иначе связано с музыкой Малера.

Верлибр Александра Блока и проблема его музыкальной интерпретации

Статья посвящена проблеме музыкальности поэзии и, в частности, анализу «звукосмысла» стихотворения-верлибра А. Блока. Утверждается, что, внешне приближаясь к прозе, по сути верлибр у Блока остается стихом и — более того — поэзией в полной мере. Особенности музыкального воплощения поэтической интонации верлибра рассмотрены на примере трёх композиторских прочтений стихотворения «Ночь. Город угомонился…» (А. Раскатова, А. Бузовкина, Г. Банщикова).

Приношение Кшиштофа Пендерецкого

В статье рассматривается Псалом 3 для хора без сопровождения Кшиштофа Пендерецкого — произведение, написанное им в 2015 году специально к столетию Геноцида армян в Османской империи.

РЕЦЕНЗИИ

Квалификационное музыковедение

В статье идет речь о музыковедческих диссертациях, защищенных в классе Р.А. Насонова в Московской консерватории. Три работы исследуют европейскую музыку барокко и классицизма: Антоненко Е.Ю. Церковная музыка Бальдассаре Галуппи: проблемы изучения и исполнения (2013), Жданов В.А. Духовный концерт в творчестве северонемецких композиторов второй половины XVII века (2015), Ноговицына К.А. Светский вокально-инструментальный концерт в творчестве Бьяджо Марини и его североитальянских современников (2016). Исследования выполнены на высоком научном уровне, имеются нотные расшифровки.

ПУБЛИКАЦИИ

Письма В.И. Бельского к Андрею Николаевичу и Михаилу Николаевичу Римским-Корсаковым

Публикация писем либреттиста поздних опер Н.А. Римского-Корсакова, В.И. Бельского, эмигрировавшего после революции в Югославию, к жившим в Ленинграде сыновьям композитора (1933–1945), с приложением биографических документов о Бельском и комментариями.