ÐÓÑÑÊÈÉ    |    ENGLISH

2014 ¹ 9

2014 ¹ 9

The articles included in the 9th issue of the Internet journal Iskusstvo muzïki. Teoriya i istoriya (‘Art of Music. Theory and History’) represent a wide array of musicological topics in terms of both space and time. Europe, Russia, Orient; the Middle Ages, the 19th century, and the modern times; instrumental and vocal music; a composer’s practice and scientific tradition; the art of G. Pasta, S. Heinefetter, A. Bishop, N. Rimsky-Korsakov, P. Boulez, P. Tchaikovsky, and A. Schnittke; the medieval Arab music theory – such are the diverse subject matters examined by the native and foreign authors of the journal’s new issue.

ARTICLES

European Primadonnas in Russia: 1840–1843

The article deals with guest performances of G. Pasta, A. Bishop, and S. Heinefetter in Russia. Taking newspaper publications as the basis for in-depth research, the author restores the earlier unknown circumstances of the life and performances of European primadonnas in St Petersburg and Moscow, brings to light the programs of their recitals and their operatic repertoire, analyzes the Russian audience’s perception of the art of famous sopranos and the general image of a foreign diva that was formed as a result of their appearances.

The Invisible City of Ledenets: Christianity and Comparative Literary Studies in N. A. Rimsky-Korsakov’s Late Operas

The essay focuses on the literary side of Christian music drama and its decisive influence on the structure of the operas of this type. As is shown, the concept of The Tale of Tsar Saltan comes to a large extent from the works of A.N. Veselovsky: both their material and the method of comparative literary analysis, as well as the very idea of borrowing as a dialogue of cultures, had a powerful influence on the librettist V.I. Bel’sky, whose texts, in their turn, gave to N.A. Rimsky-Korsakov an impulse to take a new direction in his work as composer.

The Study of Arabic Musical Sources: a Quest for Concealed and Symbolic Meaning

The Arabic medieval writings on music describe, in particular, its theoretical aspects and psychological effects, a whole gamut of experiences it produces, the variety of its virtues. The absence of musical notation and of concrete relics of the sophisticated musical art of the remote ages makes these descriptions largely arcane. On the example of four case studies the author shows how rich are the writings in question in concealed and symbolical meanings, whose deciphering requires a good command of the language, a solid knowledge of the culture, and a direct firsthand consultation of manuscript documents.

Pierre Boulez. Composer`s Gesture

The article is based on the paper presented at the international conference “Russian–French Musical Dialogues” (“Keldïsh Readings-2012”, State Institute of Arts Studies). The main object of analytic research is Boulez`s work in the late 90s (according to J.J. Nattiez, the period of his “second practice”). The composer finds new fundamentals of his work not in the intellectual concepts such as “series”, but in the bodily orientated performance practice, where “musical gesture” serves as a main element analogical (in a way) to classical theme or motif. These ideas are developed by the composer in his own analysis of the piece “Sur Incises”, which is the starting point for the present article.

REVIEWS

Review of the Book Postmoderne hinter dem Eisernen Vorhang

EXCERPTS FROM BOOKS IN PROGRESS

Review of the Book Postmoderne hinter dem Eisernen Vorhang

The major work in preparation, whose fragments are published here, is the first attempt to unite within a single book the information about all the Russian-language items on Tchaikovsky published during 140 years. The author explored materials kept in Russian libraries, as well as published in general bibliographical surveys, musicological studies, and monographs on Tchaikovsky.

РУССКИЙ    |    ENGLISH

2014 № 9

2014 № 9

Статьи, вошедшие в девятый номер интернет-журнала «Искусство музыки: теория и история», нацелены на дальнейшее расширение пространственных и временных пределов музыковедческих исследований. Европа, Россия, Восток; средневековье, XIX век и новейшее время; искусство вокальное и инструментальное; композиторская практика и научная традиция; творческие искания Дж. Пасты, С. Гейнефеттер, А. Бишоп, Н. Римского-Корсакова, авторов арабских средневековых текстов о музыке, Пьера Булеза, П. Чайковского, А. Шнитке оказываются включены в орбиту интересов отечественных и зарубежных авторов нового номера журнала.

СТАТЬИ

Европейские примадонны в России: 1840–1843

Статья посвящена гастролям Дж. Пасты, А. Бишоп и С. Гейнефеттер в России. На основании газетных публикаций восстанавливаются неизвестные ранее обстоятельства жизни и выступлений европейских примадонн в Санкт-Петербурге и Москве, программы их концертов, оперный репертуар. Анализируется характер восприятия искусства известных оперных певиц русскими слушателями, особенности формировавшегося на его основе образа иностранной примадонны.

Невидимый град Леденец: христианство и сравнительное литературоведение в поздних операх Н. А. Римского-Корсакова

Фокус работы – литературный аспект христианской музыкальной драмы, определяющий структурные особенности такого рода опер. В формировании концепции «Сказки о царе Салтане», как показано, большое значение имели труды А.Н. Веселовского: их материал, сравнительно-исторический метод анализа литературного текста, а также сама идея заимствования как диалога культур. В.И. Бельский, обратившийся к ним при создании либретто, тем самым задал творчеству Н.А. Римского-Корсакова новое направление.

Исследование арабских музыкальных источников: поиск скрытых и символических смыслов

В средневековых арабских текстах о музыке описываются, в частности, ее теоретические аспекты и психологическое воздействие, все множество вызываемых ею переживаний, ее всевозможные достоинства. Отсутствие музыкальной нотации и конкретных памятников изысканного музыкального искусства далекого прошлого делает эти описания во многих отношениях малопонятными. На четырех примерах автор показывает, что средневековые тексты богаты скрытыми и символическими смыслами, для расшифровки которых необходимы такие условия, как хорошее владение языком, глубокое погружение в культуру и непосредственное изучение рукописей.

Пьер Булез. Жест композитора

Статья написана на основе доклада, прочитанного в рамках международной конференции «Русско-французские музыкальные диалоги» («Келдышевские чтения–2012», Государственный институт искусствознания). Рассматривается мировоззрение и творчество Булеза поздних 1990-х, когда композитор во многом пересмотрел свои взгляды на композицию («вторая практика», по словам Ж.Ж. Наттье). Новыми опорами творчества композитора служат не интеллектуальные конструкции («серия»), а телесно ориентированная практика исполнительства, где опорным элементом оказывается «музыкальный жест», понимаемый как аналог «темы» или «мотива». Эти идеи Булез развивает в ходе анализа своей композиции ‘Sur Incises”, что и послужило отправной точкой для статьи.

РЕЦЕНЗИИ

Рецензия на книгу: «Постмодернизм за Железным занавесом»

В ноябре 2009 года, к 75-летию со дня рождения Шнитке, Ганноверская высшая школа музыки, театра и СМИ организовала международный симпозиум «Постмодерн за железным занавесом». В мае 2013 го по материалам симпозиума был выпущен сборник статей, среди участников которого нет ни одного специалиста из России и других стран бывшего СССР.

ФРАГМЕНТЫ БУДУЩИХ МОНОГРАФИЙ

Библиография жизни и творчества П.И. Чайковского. Указатель литературы, вышедшей на русском языке за 140 лет (1866–2006)

Труд, фрагменты которого публикуются в настоящем номере, представляет собой первую попытку объединения в рамках одной работы сведений о публикациях русскоязычной литературы о Чайковском за 140-летний период. В процессе подготовки использованы материалы, собранные в отечественных библиотеках, а также напечатанные в общих библиографических обзорах, в исследованиях и монографиях о композиторе.