ÐÓÑÑÊÈÉ    |    ENGLISH

2018 ¹ 18

2018 ¹ 18

The present issue is dedicated to some topical problems of Russian and foreign musicology. S. Petukhova and G. Bériachvili examine the peculiarities of musical intonation on the material of works by Rakhmaninov and Brahms (Petukhova) and by some relatively ‘advanced’ contemporary composers (Bériachvili). Yu. Veksler’s article introduces unknown materials related to the reception of Alban Berg’s music, especially of his opera Wozzeck, in the USSR. Th. Adorno’s reminiscences of Berg, translated into Russian and commented by Yu. Veksler, considerably enriches our knowledge about the composer’s human and creative image. The British scholar T. Wilson provides a detailed analysis of a still unpublished major composition by the outstanding contemporary Russian composer Aleksandr Knaifel. The large-scale paper on the shortcomings of contemporary education of music historians, written by the leading specialist in ancient and Byzantine music E. Gertsman, is published as a matter for discussion.

The issue contains also a summary of the recently published new volume of the encyclopaedic edition ‘Musical Saint Petersburg. 19th Century. 1801–1861. Vol. 14: Materials for an Encyclopaedia’.

ARTICLES

On the Application of the Term ‘Micro-Thematic’ for the Analysis of Chamber Works by Rakhmaninov and Brahms

The article points out to structural and compositional similarities between chamber works by Rakhmaninov and Brahms. The analogies are based on both composers’ use of the so-called micro-thematic Method.

Reception of Alban Berg’s Music in the USSR

Reception of Alban Berg’s music in Russia of the 1920–30s is determined by the Leningrad premiere of his opera Wozzeck. This event was studied by I. A. Barsova and O. A. Bobrik. However, they did not touch upon a number of materials, mainly from foreign archives, including private correspondence, memoirs, critiques, and reviews. The topics that need clarification include unrealized plans for productions of Wozzek in other Soviet cities, Soviet performances of other works by Berg, as well as some circumstances related to Berg’s articles written with an intention to publish them in Russia. The article represents an attempt to comprehend the currently available range of sources and to outline prospects for a further study of the reception of Berg in Russia.

Reminiscence

The annotated translation of the chapter from a monograph by the great German philosopher, sociologist and musicologist Theodor Adorno (1903–1969), who for some time was a composition student of Alban Berg. One of the most intelligent and subtle connoisseur of the Berg’s music, Adorno was the author of numerous articles about his work, which subsequently merged into the book Berg. Master of the Smallest Link. The ‘Reminiscence’ is based on the obituary written by Adorno in 1935 and on his memoirs completed 20 years later. Translation from German and notes by Yu. S. Veksler. Previously unpublished in Russian.

Theory of Intonation and Musical Gesture Studies: Perspectives of Interaction and Synthesis

Among the recent musical gesture studies, a number of theories are quite close to the theory of intonation, founded by outstanding Russian scholars B. Asafiev and B. Yavorsky (Jaworski). The article’s main purpose is to reveal analogies between them and to outline the ways of their possible interaction and synthesis. The article contains a brief overview of the 20th century thinkers’ ideas and statements on gesture. It also provides a general panorama of music-related gesture studies of the last three decades. A special section is devoted to the role of gesture in the oeuvre of contemporary avant-garde composers. The central part of the article focuses on the analysis of R. Hatten’s, A. Cox’s, and M. Imberty’s theories. The last two sections deal with my own concept of ‘imprint’ of gesture in musical space and the resulting possibilities for the analysis of the historical development of art music in the 20th century.

In Air Clear and Unseen (1994): Texts, Sub-Texts and Intonations Within the Piano Quintet of Alexander Knaifel

In Air Clear and Unseen: Stanzas with Tyutchev for Piano and String Quartet (1994) is a work that can be regarded as seminal within the mature oeuvre of the Russian composer Alexander Knaifel. Compositionally ascetic and harmonically static to the point of inertia, the work comprises, paradoxically, a complex array of significations as its intended semantic import. In connection, it demonstrates a wide variety of both musical and linguistic strategies not only to convey and facilitate these intended significations, but also to obscure them, with many of the strategies employed appearing radical and/or aiming to extend the role of both performer and listener. With much of Knaifel’s later oeuvre currently unpublished, what follows is the first published analysis of the work; the first in-depth examination and critique of these strategies, discussed within the context of Knaifel’s approach to meaning.

Education of Music Historians: Past, Present and Future

The situation in the realm of education of music historians is assessed by the author as catastrophic — first of all because the conservatoire programmes do not pay due attention to the music of Antiquity and the Middle Ages, as well as the music of non-European cultures. As a result, the notions and categories pertaining to the European music of last three or four centuries are often interpreted erroneously, since their relation to the musical thinking of remote past remains either obscure or misunderstood. The author traces the historical developments that brought to such a situation, outlines the possible ways to overcome it, and brings positive examples from the recent practice of the St Petersburg Conservatoire.

REVIEWS

Ìóçûêàëüíûé Ïåòåðáóðã. XIX âåê. 1801—1861

РУССКИЙ    |    ENGLISH

2018 № 18

2018 № 18

Новый выпуск посвящен актуальным вопросам отечественной и зарубежной музыковедческой науки. В статьях С. Петуховой и Г. Бериашвили рассматриваются проблемы интонационной специфики музыкального искусства – как более общие (Бериашвили), так и конкретные, в связи с сочинениями Рахманинова и Брамса (Петухова). Статья Ю. Векслер раскрывает неизвестные страницы истории восприятия музыки А. Берга и, в частности, его знаменитой оперы «Воццек», в СССР. Выполненный этим же исследователем комментированный перевод воспоминаний Т. Адорно о Берге добавляет новые черты к портрету композитора. Британская исследовательница Т. Уилсон предлагает детальный анализ все еще не опубликованной композиции выдающегося современного российского композитора А. Кнайфеля. Публикация масштабной работы видного специалиста по античной и византийской музыке Е. Герцмана о дефектах современного музыкально-исторического образовании печатается в порядке дискуссии. Редакция надеется, что читатель примет участие в обсуждении проблем, затронутых ученым.

Завершает номер журнала аннотация на только что вышедший новый том энциклопедического издания «Музыкальный Петербург. XIX век. 1801–1861. Т. 14: Материалы к энциклопедии».

СТАТЬИ

К вопросу о применении термина «микротематизм» при анализе камерных сочинений Рахманинова и Брамса

Статья посвящена установлению черт структурного и композиционного сходства между камерными сочинениями Рахманинова и Брамса. Основой для аналогий служит использование обоими авторами метода так называемого микротематизма.

Рецепция Альбана Берга в СССР

Рецепция музыки Берга в России 1920–1930-х годов определяется ленинградской премьерой оперы «Воццек», которой посвящены исследования И.А. Барсовой и О.А. Бобрик. Вместе с тем за их рамками остается довольно большой круг материалов преимущественно из зарубежных архивов: частная переписка, мемуары, статьи в журналах и газетах. Нуждаются в прояснении неосуществленные планы дальнейших постановок «Воццека» в городах СССР, факты исполнения других сочинений композитора, а также некоторые обстоятельства написания и публикации статей Берга, предназначенных для России. В статье предпринята попытка осмысления доступного сейчас круга источников, намечены перспективы дальнейшего исследования рецепции Берга в России.

Воспоминание

Комментированный перевод главы из монографии выдающегося немецкого философа, социолога и музыковеда Теодора Адорно (1903–1969), некоторое время бывшего учеником Берга по композиции. Один из наиболее умных и тонких знатоков творчества учителя, Адорно стал автором многочисленных статей о его творчестве, впоследствии объединенных в книгу «Берг. Мастер незаметного перехода». В основу «Воспоминания» положен некролог, написанный Адорно в 1935 году, и завершенные 20 лет спустя мемуары. Перевод с немецкого и примечания Ю.С. Векслер. На русском языке публикуется впервые.

Теория интонации и исследования о музыкальном жесте: перспективы взаимодействия и синтеза

Среди современных работ о жесте в музыке, есть ряд концепций, весьма близких к теории интонации. Основная задача статьи — выявление аналогий между ними, с целью наметить пути их возможного взаимодействия и синтеза. В статью включён краткий обзор работ и высказываний о жесте крупных мыслителей XX века; затем, дана общая картина исследований о музыкальном жесте последних трёх десятилетий. Особый раздел отведён роли жеста в творчестве современных композиторов академического авангарда. В центральной части статьи разбираются теории музыкального жеста Р. Хаттена, А. Кокса, М. Эмберти и нескольких других авторов. Последние два раздела посвящены моей собственной концепции «отпечатка» жеста в музыкальном пространстве, а также вытекающим из неё возможностям анализа исторического развития музыкального искусства в XX веке.

«В эфире чистом и незримом» (1994): тексты, подтексты и интонации в фортепианном квинтете александра кнайфеля

«В эфире чистом и незримом», строфы с Тютчевым для фортепиано и струнного квартета» (1994)— ключевое произведение в контексте зрелого творчества русского композитора Александра Кнайфеля. Аскетизм выразительных средств и статичный, почти инертный характер гармонии не противоречит тому, что произведение заключает в себе сложный комплекс смыслов. Автор использует разнообразные методы — как музыкальной, так и отчасти лингвистической природы, — не только для того, чтобы передать эти смыслы и облегчить их восприятие, но и для того, чтобы завуалировать их. Некоторые из использованных методов достаточно радикальны и направлены на то, чтобы расширить функции как исполнителя, так и слушателя. Значительная часть позднего творчества Кнайфеля остается неопубликованной; эта статья — первый анализ данного произведения и первое углубленное исследование этих методов, осуществленное в контексте кнайфелевского подхода к музыкальной семантике.

Образование историков музыки: прошлое, настоящее и будущее

Положение в области образования историков музыки оценивается автором как катастрофическое — прежде всего потому, что в консерваторских программах уделяется совершенно недостаточно места изучению музыки Античности и Средневековья, а также музыки неевропейских культур. Вследствие этого понятия и категории, важные для новоевропейской музыки, сплошь и рядом трактуются неверно, поскольку их преемственная связь с музыкальным мышлением далекого прошлого остается непонятой или не выявленной. Автор прослеживает историю того, как складывалось подобное положение, намечает возможные пути его преодоления и приводит позитивные примеры из недавней практики Санкт-Петербургской консерватории.

РЕЦЕНЗИИ

Музыкальный Петербург. XIX век. 1801—1861